Author Topic: New Smoker  (Read 8018 times)

Bobo

• Home Town: Clarksville, TN
  • Sr. Member - cooked it, smoked it, grilled it, ate it and knows what's what.
New Smoker
« on: 03/11/10 00:22:20 »
I just recieved a double door propane smoker for a gift.  It is a "Master Forge" purchased at Lowes.  Seems pretty sturdy.  going to season it tomorrow and smoke a couple of butts on Friday.  Going to do an overnight smoke, planning on about starting at midnight and possibly going to noon. Trying for an enternal temp of about 200 degrees.  Anyone have any comments on this type or brand of smoker or any tips for the butts, please post. I have never used a smoker before so any help would be greaty appreciated.  I was planning on using Mesquite wood for smoking but I read that Mesquite was better for beef.  Meqsquite is just more prevelant in the stores here, applewood and other types are more difficult to find.  Any comments on wood would be appreciated too.
My heroes are Jesus and John Wayne
The Big Easy Oilless Turkey Fryer
The Big Easy Gas Grill
Master Forge 2 Door Vertical Gas Smoker
Charbroil 3 burner/2 Trough RED (red) X 2
Big Easy Electric Smoker/Roaster (BEESR)

MartyFly

• Full Member - grills & smokes like someone who knows what they are doin.
Re: New Smoker
« Reply #1 on: 03/11/10 05:03:05 »
I'm not familiar with gassers, I've got as MSE and a charcoal smoker, but I would go with the apple or cherry wood if you can get it.  Might be able to find chunk at Lowes or Home Depot or possibly Walmart. For sure at Cabela's or Bass Pro shop or even try Gander Mountain, whichever is in your area.

Right idea on low and slow.  Aim for 225 to 240 and you'll be in good shape. Take it to 205 IT and wait out the stall.  If you want more info go to Smoking Meat Forums. Good luck!
(1)Char-Griller Super Pro Horizontal Smoker W/SFB
(1)Weber Kettle
(1)Weber Smokey Joe
(1)Big Easy
(1)Masterbuilt Smokehouse
(2)Adjust-a-grill for camping (if we are counting)