Author Topic: What Temperture Does Inside of Big Easy Attain? Remote Thermometer ?  (Read 3180 times)

painfree

• Newbie - still lookin' for matches
I am new to the Big Easy grill.  Today will be my first use.   Since we judge doneness by Temperature, I was wanting to know what temperature the inside of the BE attains and if there is an electronic probe remote thermometer that I will be able to use with it without destroying the thermometer itself ?

mr jig

• Sr. Member - cooked it, smoked it, grilled it, ate it and knows what's what.
  • i'm the vertical one.
I have recently used a taylor digital remote without problem.
This is a model 1470 and sells for under $20.

I have no idea how the infrared effects the probe and cable but it doesn't damage either.
My digital is used as a first alarm.

If i want to pull a bird at 160f in the breast i put the probe in the breast and set the unit to alarm
at 150. When it alarms i withdraw the probe.
I then lift the bird out and test in several places with a Thermapen.
If it needs a few more minutes i simply lower the bird back into the EZ or SRG and re check it
at short intervals with the Thermapen.
Checking a bird or roast is easy as i do not use the basket.
The bird or roast is simply impaled on a turkey lifter which has a base and a long spike with a loop at the top for easy lifting with the hook provided with both units.

Nothing to it!
dick

painfree

That sounds like a good idea,  where can one buy the turkey lifter you are talking about?   I am not sure about the Taylor as there are several reviews that are less than stellar and I believe for the reason I suspect.. too high of a temperture inside the Big Easy chamber itself.  That is why I was wanting to know what the temp on the wall of the BE is as the probe wire would most certainly touch it during the cooking process I would think ?
« Last Edit: 11/09/10 11:15:35 by painfree »

mr jig

• Sr. Member - cooked it, smoked it, grilled it, ate it and knows what's what.