Author Topic: Can I replace infrared burner with standard burner?  (Read 8905 times)

ken.devivo

• Newbie - still lookin' for matches
I am a newbie on this forum and am having trouble identifying if the correct place for this question, so I am going to try the Quantum area. 

I purchased a Char-Broil TEC 3-Burner grill a few years back (http://www.charbroil.com/ProductSupport/463268307/CharBroil-TEC-Series.aspx).  A few months after I bought it, CB came out with the "Red" line so I think the "TEC" series was very short-lived.

Anyway, around a year after I bought it, I had to have the TEC infrared burner replaced as it wasn't working properly (thankfully replaced under warranty).  Now the replacement burner no longer heats properly and half of the screws that secured the burner have snapped off.

My question: Can I simply replace the TEC infrared burner with a standard "Burners W/Spider Guards" (part 80008991) for $30, or do I need to replace it with the "Tec Burner Complete" (part 80008993) for $130?

I hate losing the Infrared cooking system since that is what I paid $$$ for, but two failed TEC burners and no issues with the regular gas burners makes me leary of the quality of the Char-Broil TEC burners.

Wished I had waited a few months and bought the Red or Quantum line....

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ken

Char-Broil TEC Series (3 burner)
Char-Broil The Big Easy (16 lb)
Char-Broil Outdoor Stovetop

Barry

Re: Can I replace infrared burner with standard burner?
« Reply #1 on: 11/28/10 14:32:59 »
Hiya Ken --- I feel your pain.  Seriously.

I don't know about the answer to your question.  I'll forward it to the folks who might know and see if there is a reasonable answer....

cb

ken.devivo

« Reply #2 on: 12/06/10 12:50:49 »