Author Topic: The Big Easy and ham.  (Read 2211 times)

marybay

• Newbie - still lookin' for matches
The Big Easy and ham.
« on: 08/23/11 11:25:22 »
Hi, I'm a newbie to the Forums.
I've owned my Big Easy for about 3 years and only cooked turkey in it previous to the last three hams (smoked not sliced) in my BEZ. Just love the results. Everyone raved about the first attempt at my yearly family reunion (last two years I made Turkey) this past July.  The turkeys went like hotcakes and this year I didn't take home any leftovers.
Thanks for the info I was able to get off the forum on how to do a ham.
The last ham I had was over the weekend and was it great. I put it in small side up this time and let it go for 1hour 15 mins. then slathered a glaze of maple syrup and rasberry jelly heated to mix, let it cook 15 mins. more and it was actually running juice when it was carved. First time that has happened to me with a smoked ham. I've been cooking for 40 years.
Here's to good cooking. Looking forward to exploring what this machine can do now that I have the forum to consult with.

Marybay

Okiegirl

• Sr. Member - cooked it, smoked it, grilled it, ate it and knows what's what.
Re: The Big Easy and ham.
« Reply #1 on: 08/23/11 11:43:24 »
Hi Mary, Welcome to the forum!
Your ham sounds wonderful!  We'd love to see pictures next time.  :)

Be sure to try some chicken wings in TBE - they're excellent!

deestafford

• Official Char-Broil BBQ All-Star - so knows that he/she doesn't know much at all
  • Augusta, GA
Re: The Big Easy and ham.
« Reply #2 on: 08/23/11 13:20:20 »