Author Topic: SRG and pork  (Read 2940 times)

USMC0311

• Newbie - still lookin' for matches
SRG and pork
« on: 08/08/12 08:53:13 »
Hello Guys i am new here this is my first post :) i just bought the Bigeasy SRG and was hoping to get some pulled pork ready in time for the football game tomorrow night can anyone give me a good recipe for some pulled pork? i mean a good rub recipe and also this is my first time using this thing i have traeger pelets (mesquite,cherry,apple) which flavor is best for pork and i should use a full smoke tray of pellets? and cook on low? do the pellets smoke on low? and how long per pound of pork? thanks  :D

deestafford

• Official Char-Broil BBQ All-Star - so knows that he/she doesn't know much at all
  • Augusta, GA
Re: SRG and pork
« Reply #1 on: 08/08/12 09:13:20 »
USMC,  That is really an ambitious cook for your first in the SRG...not suprising from a Marine. ;)  Tommy, who has cooked over 50 butts in the SRG will come along and give some good ideas.  In the meantime by doing a search under the SRG section you may find a detailed post he recently did in detail on how to do a butt in the SRG.  Dee
5 Burner Quantum
2 SRGs
1 TBE
1 MES
2 Bayou Fryers
This post may contain misspellings, grammatical errors, disorganized sentence structure, misquotes, and may lack a coherent theme.  These elements are natural to the process of writing, and will only add to the beauty of the post.

RedRocks

• Full Member - grills & smokes like someone who knows what they are doin.
  • Four Corners, USA
« Reply #2 on: 08/08/12 10:54:44 »
Welcome USMC!

Most folks here will agree that you should avoid rubs with much sugar content, as the sugar will burn when cooking with infrared.

As far as rubs, everyone here has their own preferences! I prefer no rub, or maybe just a little salt & pepper.

A coating of CYM - Cheap Yellow Mustard will give your rub something to stick to on the butt.  It also helps in developing the bark.